1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

I can help you...

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by Dr. Dai Phan, Dec 20, 2005.

1. Dr. Dai Phan

Dr. Dai Phan Senior Member
    Moderator Emeritus Lifetime Donor SDN Advisor Classifieds Approved 7+ Year Member

Dentist
    Hello all,

Let me introduce myself... I am Dai Phan and I am currently a dentist working at the Albuquerque VA. I think that my educational path is anything but typical so I think that I can relate to all of your concerns. Let me say that I came to this country in 1980 and earned my BS degree in Aerospace Engineering in 1985. I then decided to go into dentistry (my father was an MD, my brother is a PHD in engineering so I thought dentistry for me would be appropriate). I went to University of Kansas for my pre-dent and I enrolled in UMKC Dental School in 1990 and earned my DDS in 1995. I then went on and did my post graduate trainings in General Dentistry (G.P.R and A.E.G.D) at the University of Nebraska Medical Center and University of Minnesota in 1996 and 1997. I then went on and completed a three year Prosthodontic Residency at Marquette University in 2000. Then I went another step further... I did an one year fellowship at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in Maxillofacial Prosthetic program completed in 2001. After a total of 16 years ( with a BSAE, DDS, two certificates in General Dentistry training, a speciaty and a sub-specialty), I became a full time professor at the University of Tennesee in Me