I have a question!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Packers800

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm a freshman in cc in Texas and I'm thinking about going into medical school, so far my GPA is only 2.8, I know it's pretty bad for my first year although since I'm just getting started (Ive only taken 3 classes total) there's plenty of time for me to bring it up. Plus I pretty much slacked off during high school and left with a 2.2 GPA. My question is WHAT SHOULD I MAJOR IN? I know that you have to knock out all the pre med courses, get a high gpa, mcat, volunteer work, etc etc...but this is something I am seriously considering doing, it's one of the only things that really interests me and I know I can do it if I just try. I just want to get off to a strong start my sophomore year like a 3.5 GPA at the very least.

I haven't done any volunteer work, community service, nothing since I'm pretty much brand new in college and since Ive only been seriously thinking about doing this for about 5 days now.

Any Advice or help you could give me would be GREATLY appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

First of all, start giving a s|h|i|t while your GPA is still salvageable. Frankly, a 2.8 for a college freshman with a light class load is just plain ridiculous and shows that you haven't been paying attention at all. That will need to change. Have a clear idea of your goals and what you must do to achieve them.