I need advice, nontraditional applicant with low gpa from non-science majoršŸ„²

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

qj3434:)

Reaction score
Hello,
I just need some advice on what I should do because I feel like my chances of getting accepted into dental school is veryy low šŸ˜ž
I am an econ grad with low gpa (less than 3.0). I settled with econ in college because I had really low science gpa in my first quarter of sophomore and they said I couldnā€™t switch to science anymore. I was stuck choosing a major in the humanities department since I was undeclared. This really discouraged me and my asian pride would not let myself drop out of that current college just because I couldnā€™t do science, so I just picked a major in humanities and tried to finish with a degree (which I now regret). Part of the reason I got such low gpa in econ is because itā€™s just not what I want to major in, and I always think to myself how I couldā€™ve tried harder my first year of college. Anyway, the moment I graduated, I knew I wonā€™t be using that degree and wanted to pursue dentistry. Dentistry has always interest me so I knew if I do anything econ related for a living, I would hate it. I actually started taking science classes at an extension school, or basically a DIY postbacc, and was doing amazing at first. Then ofc covid hit, I was doing online classes, feeling unmotivated, and didnā€™t continue my straight Aā€™s streak. Iā€™ve been getting mostly Bā€™s but ofc I know thatā€™s not good enough for a post bacc. After covidā€™s quarantine ended, I started working as a dental assistant full time so that didnā€™t help my gpa situation either. Now I only have like 2 more labs I have to take left and Iā€™m sure I prob need alot more classes for my average gpa from both schools to be 3.0. I just feel so discourage, I was thinking about a Masterā€™s but I averaged out if I were to get a 4.0 for it with my econ gpa, I wou