I really need advice ASAP, please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dental407

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm completely new to SDN but I was hoping I could ask for some immediate advice. I'm currently enrolled in a Biology elective course that is not required or even recommended for dental school and I'm worried about my grade and GPA. Although I still have a final that is 50% of my grade, my current grade is around a C due to unfortunate illness I had this quarter that lasted 2 weeks. I was wondering if I should should withdraw from the course, I have never had a "W" on my transcript but I really do not want to affect my GPA considering that I want to apply for dental school next June. Does having one "W" look really bad on your transcript if you have reason to explain why you had to withdraw from the course? Although I have a doctor's note, my professor was not very helpful and understanding about the situation. I am doing well in my other courses this quarter but I was just hoping anyone can give me advice regarding having a "W" especially anyone that might have applied to dental school already and has interviews. Does it come up in the interview? A "W" is recorded when you apply to dental school, right? Also, it's not that I do not want to work hard in the next 1.5 week that I have left before the final (qtr system) but I also have another Bio. class that is required for me to graduate and also is highly rec. for dental schools to focus on too. What should I do? Please help!

Members don't see this ad.