I want to do psychiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

plsfoldthx

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all. I'm a recent college grad who wants to do psychiatry and I am thinking of applying to caribbean schools for several reasons. I'm 24 now and have been out of school for a year and didn't apply last year because I hadn't taken the MCATs. I'm taking it on April 23 and I have been scoring about high 20s low 30s on my MCATs. I have 2 questions.

If I apply by June this year to the big 4 caribbean schools, how likely is it for me to be able to start this fall? I am planning to apply to US MD/DO schools this year, but the process seems really tedious and would like to start as soon as possible.

I feel like I would most likely want to do something in the order of Psychiatry, Emergency, IM, FP. I know that it is much harder for Carib MDs to obtain good residency spots. How tough is it to get into an academic residency in these specialties from a caribbean school?

Thanks for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

the big 4 school will wait till you get your MCAT scores to look at your application, if your application is complete in June it's not likely that you'll be able to start in Aug, most likely you'll be able to start in Jan. You should try your hardest to get into a US MD/DO school. Your chance of matching into a residency almost double if you go to a US MD/DO school. Table 4 shows that the percent of US Seniors who matched was 93%, ~70% of DO students matched, and 47.3% of US-IMGs (ie carib students) matched.

http://www.nrmp.org/data/advancedatatables2010.pdf