I wish I had done things differently ...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
I recently just got accepted into medical school and l thought I would take the time to give some insight on how I handled things versus how I wished I had handled things. I graduated in three years, at 20 years old, and everything really did seem rushed. Looking back at my undergraduate experience, I truly only enjoyed my first year since my second year was absolute hell since I was taking 3-4 labs each semester with volunteering and research on the side. Also, in order to graduate in 3 years, I had to enroll in courses over the summer of my freshman year. All in all, everything worked out since I achieved my end goal of getting an acceptance to a US medical school. However, now I find myself asking the question was it worth all of the stress?

After weeks of thinking about this question, I can 100% say no, it was not worth it.

I wish I had a gone about things a lot differently. So here are some things I wish I had done:

- Study for the MCAT as early as you can, friends and SDN will often say to only study 3-4 months but this is garbage. If you want to start as early as your freshman year go for it, just don't go to overboard haha. Most people end up retaking the MCAT or pushing their test dates back, so really those recommending to study 3-4 months are studying more than that. My advice would be, if you are up to the challenge, review the topic you are learning in lecture with that same topic in your MCAT books. This will help in the long run, and make studying for the MCAT ALOT easier. If studying for the MCAT early, your goal should be to just familiarize yourself with the content and to not forget the things you learned in early courses (Bio 1/ Chem 1, etc.). This test is very important and killing it will exponentially increase your odds of getting into med school.