iatrogenic pulp exposure

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dentaldenta

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I am a dental student and I am writing here because i accidentally exposed a pulp. :( It was iatrogenic, my fault. I informed the dentist i was working with and I told the patient (who is in her teens). We did a direct pulp cap. I know what I did wrong and I assure you I have learned from my mistake. However, I feel so terribly guilty. This patient will likely need root canal therapy (hopefully not) and the patient is so young. :( It has lowered my confidence tremendously. :scared: Does anyone have any helpful stories they can tell me? Do you guys know how often these kinds of mistakes happen? What do you guys think in general of this story?
Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

That's why you're in dental school right? Mistakes happen. The key is to learn from them. The patient is young, which, is good. Since the pulp is exposed and it wasn't a carious exposure, there is a better chance of the DPC working and the patient not needing endo. Especially if you used MTA (imho). There are some great studies out where MTA was used with great success. Even with large exposures. Don't let it shake your confidence. Good luck! :thumbup:

Hi everyone,
I am a dental student and I am writing here because i accidentally exposed a pulp. :( It was iatrogenic, my fault. I informed the dentist i was working with and I told the patient (who is in her teens). We did a direct pulp cap. I know what I did wrong and I assure you I have learned from my mistake. However, I feel so terribly guilty. This patient will likely need root canal therapy (hopefully not) and the patient is so young. :( It has lowered my confidence tremendously. :scared: Does anyone have any helpful stories they can tell me? Do you guys know how often these kinds of mistakes happen? What do you guys think in general of this story?