IAUPR 1ST YEAR- MY THOUGHTS AND EXPERIENCE (NOT NEGATIVE)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

romo

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Merely one year ago I was logging into Student Doctor Forum to find ANY info I could on IAUPR because with my lower OAT and lower GPA I was looking at a short list of possible acceptances.

I noticed most of the threads about the school were negative. This was very discouraging and when I originally thought I would love to attend IAUPR and live on an island in the caribbean, I very quickly started to have doubts.

In the end, I was left with no other option and after speaking to a recent graduate (friend of mine) and another friend who was currently in the program, I decided to go for it.

Anyways.. Here are my impressions..

I am an average student, because I choose to be. I decided that this first year is the "easiest" one so I was going to take advantage and have fun with it. Yes I attend classes, I study, and I pass all of my classes. But I am by no means, an "A" student. And honestly, I think that's what has kept me sane in optometry school so far.
  • I live off campus, so I commute to school everyday. I live 1 block from the beach because I decided to live in the more popular area. And I love it. (The school is located in Bayamon which is a smaller town)

• They tell the students they don't "need" a car, but I STRONGLY recommend one. Buy one used or off another student here because everyone drives a rinkydink car, anyways. Everything is too far from each other to walk or take a cab. You'll end up spending more money in your first year renting cars and using taxi services.