If medical school wasn't so expensive and time-consuming, would you drop out?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OncHeme2B

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I feel like I have given everything up for this life that is just making me unhappy, and I am almost $150,000 in debt with no way to pay it back. I have been working towards becoming a doctor for a decade...and have poured all my time and money and heart and soul into it...but I am still very unhappy. I do love kids and do desire to be either a pediatrician or a pediatric oncologist/hematologist...but I have a bachelors in biochemistry and do not love science anymore, I am actually sick of it and am completely exhausted. My parents and teachers are urging me to give it up since they see me drained. Something in me keeps going despite all my setbacks, but I am wondering if I am foolish for even pursuing medicine. Should I leave this field?

Members don't see this ad.

Oh yeah and I should say, if I do drop out of medical school, since I have a bachelors in biochem, what is the first thing I should do so that I can start paying my massive quarter million in debt loans back. I will have to start working right away. Such as, what is the best type of job I should start searching for so that I can make money and pay my loans off fast?

Serious replies only please...I have no desire to be a stripper :laugh:

Members don't see this ad :)
Go into politics and change this fkkking healthcare system that is screwing us practicing physicians.

Finish med school. Then do an MBA or a post doc in health policy.

If you are this miserable now you'll become suicidal as a practicing physician (I know many that are)

Man, if I could do it all over again..........................