If you dislike memorizing, is pharmacy the wrong choice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
steveysmith54 said:
Just wondering.

You are totally wrong, pharmacy is not only about memorizing.

I'm not good at memorizing lists of things and I've done fine in pharmacy school (3.3 GPA). In fact, if you only memorize then you probably won't pass your classes.

Members don't see this ad :)
It's like talking to myself. Here's what I've learned:

Pharmacy itself isn't the wrong choice, the actual job doesn't involve much memorization at all. However the school itself is very dependent upon memorization and it can be a pain, but a tolerable one.

If you could solely memorize you would certainly pass pharmacy school, same goes for med. The true understanding only shines during practice when you use that knowledge.

Requiem said:
It's like talking to myself. Here's what I've learned:

Pharmacy itself isn't the wrong choice, the actual job doesn't involve much memorization at all. However the school itself is very dependent upon memorization and it can be a pain, but a tolerable one.

If you could solely memorize you would certainly pass pharmacy school, same goes for med. The true understanding only shines during practice when you use that knowledge.

Requiem - you had a great post on that other thread by the way on study tips - I just got too busy to reply. Sorry - I meant to agree with you.

Really, it seems there is lots of memorization to do when you go thru pharmacy school. I spent plenty of time myself with flashcards. However, as I went along....it becomes less and less about memorizing.

I'll admit though, unless you go to a school which is going to instruct you about why you are learning the different structural relationships, all you'll get out of it is this drug has a side chain off the 4 position & that drug has a side chain off the 5 position.