IM Away rotations in West (San Francisco) and East Coast (NYC)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justskipee

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am looking to do away rotations at UCSF and one of the top sites in NYC (because I want to go to those areas for residency). I have some questions and can't get any straight answers from my school.

1) I read that UCSF does not place much weight on away elective. Someone at the residency said to not do a Sub-I in medicine since it takes a couple weeks just to figure out the system let a lone do well.

-Should I do an elective in one of the specialties like heme/onc, pulm, GI? or do I need to do a general medicine sub-I (they call it senior medicine)?

2) I am totally new to the IM programs in NYC, and can't figure out where to do my away elective. There are so many it is hard to get a real comparison (e.g. what makes columbia so good?). From an archived post on studentdoctor.net these IM programs were rated the best:
1) columbia
2) mount sinai
3) cornell
4) nyu
5) einstein
6) nymc

Can someone give me highlights of the programs to accurately compare them. I am looking for great training, but nuturing and fun learning environment. Also where would be the best to do an away elective?

Thanks so much SDN community.

Justin

Members don't see this ad.

I would NOT do a sub-I at UCSF. it will be very hard for you to keep up/learn the system. You need to do a sub-I at your home program and get honors or an A or whatever grading system you use. I would recommend a consult rotation as you are considering. good luck!

I am looking to do away rotations at UCSF and one of the top sites in NYC (because I want to go to those areas for residency). I have some questions and can't get any straight answers from my school.