IM Prelim Match Interested in Categorical Internal Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

andpatel1994

Reaction score
I had previously posted this in a different section but realized this may be a better place to post it. I did find threads about similar topics but I had a few extra questions not listed there. Anyways here goes:

I am a DO student who applied to anesthesia this year and matched into a 1-year program which is either an IM prelim or a TY, but I did not match into an advanced anesthesia spot. I was on the fence between anesthesia and IM throughout my entire application cycle and after having completed a few more IM rotations during the past few months which I really enjoyed, I realize my heart is really in IM and not in anesthesia. I hope to complete an IM residency rather than pursuing an anesthesiology residency but was unsure about how the application process works. I had heard that some of the possible options are to reapply IM through ERAS and the MATCH, find an open PGY-2 spot, or continue on in my current program if my PD will allow it. I was unsure about the time frame about when to reach out to my PD and if there is anything I should do during the summer before my rotation starts to get a head start. Would I need to take USMLE Step 3 or COMLEX Level 3 to be competitive for reapplication? I was also unsure how much being a prelim student would hurt my chances of getting interviews/matching as a PGY1 in an IM categorical if that is the route I choose to take.

Just for some further info, I have Step 1 23X, Step 2 24x, COMLEX 1 60X, COMLEX 2 55X, all passed on the first try. As far as I am aware with both feedback from my school as well as programs I reached out to, I do not have any red flags on my application besides maybe dropping 50 points from COMLEX level 1 to level 2.

I truly appreciate any advice or insight anyone could give!

Members don't see this ad.