I'm WORRIED!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shrami

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an international student in the US. I'll be starting my pre-med in the fall. I'm really worried that I won't even get into a medical school by the time I'm finished with undergrad. Should I find myself an American girlfriend to "marry" somewhere along the road - just to get a greencard, then call it quits soon afterward? Or should I persuade one of my parents to "marry" an American citizen. I know of African immigrants who pay trash-poor Americans a couple of thousands for a brief hand in marrige...to attain "papers" (citizenship/permanent residence).

I want to do my medicine in the US! I can't imagine myself anywhere else. How are my chances of being accepted if I am not a citizen/permanent resident? I've already gone through a gruesome process finding a place for undergrad as a poor international. As a result of not being a citizen, I will end up going to the college that was last of all my choices. I don't want that to happen again after undergrad. How can I get some quick status? How did you guys (noncitizens) deal with it?

I guess it's good to be worried early when there is still time rather than to be stranded at the last minute. What do you say I should do? Medical school is my dream!!

Members don't see this ad.

First, calm down. Be easy. Breathe. You will be alright. I would suggest that you dont "marry" someone, or try to attain papers illegally. I suggest you apply normally. It is better than doing something illegal, getting caught and getting deported or sent to federal prision. Apply to medical school, and pray. Apply to as many as you can afford. I am confident that if medical school is your dream, you will be successful. May God be with you.

Members don't see this ad :)
DESPAIR NOT shrami, for I.....*cough**cough**cough* :sleep: