Impact of youthful appearance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

josh85

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!
I'm applying for admissions to medical school this year (2013 entering class) and was curious as to how I would be affected as a medical student if I have a youthful appearance. Even though I am 24, people actually think I'm 15-16. I was playing basketball the other day and people were surprised that I was in college-they all thought I was a high school freshman. I get carted to watch rated R movies ALL the time. I was wondering how this would affect me as a medical student, how do you guys think this will affect me during my clinical rotations?

Members don't see this ad.

You should probably delay a few years until you start looking like you're in your 20's. Basically, you don't have a chance.

I don't think it will matter. You might get more "how old are you?" questions from patients, but I don't think that is common anyhow.

Members don't see this ad :)
While my appearance is older than I actually am I was 3 years younger than the other youngest people in class because I skipped some classes in high school. I believe this has somewhat worked against me as I was ruled out before the interview at some schools. Pure speculation though.

Medical schools like older students (notice, not old, but older) - students that know what they want and are mature (though the correlation doesn't seem to be that high). I would still try to get into medical school if I were you but dress super professionally, and act most mature. A suit/dress can make you look 2-3 years older. Also pick a hair style that will make you look more mature. I know this seems a little silly but I feel like I have been somewhat in your boat! Good luck!