Improved Computer-aided Detection and Annotation of Spiculated Masses in Mammography

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UT Grad StudN

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a graduate student at the University of Texas, I'm currently working with a professor who I believe has made significant developments in the ability to detect spiculated masses with CADe software. I'm trying to determine if their is an appetite in the radiologist community for her new software.

Her patent-protected technology, implemented through software, provides a model-based, evidence-based approach to capture the exact shape of spicules on mammograms using a modular, flexible image analysis technique. The system can be easily integrated into existing CADe systems and offers an intuitive depiction of the spicules on the mammogram to alert the radiologist. The invention uses a series of Gaussian filters, spiculated lesion filters and Difference of Gaussian filters to produce a combined enhanced image.

I'm trying to determine the answer to the following questions
•Do you use computer-aided detection technology (CADe) to analyze mammograms?
•(If so) Which software system(s) do you use? Does CADe help or hinder you?
•Would enhanced Mammograms save you time?
•Would you like a product that provided better clarity to the mammogram?
•In your experience what is most difficult about the process of detecting breast cancer?
•What improvements would you like to see made to breast cancer detection?
•Are false positive detections of spiculated masses a large problem in your practice?

I attached a picture to demonstrate the results of her work.

Any feedback is appreciated.

Thanks,
UT Grad StudN
Spiculated mass filter.png

Members don't see this ad.