In need of advice...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lase42

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
"

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
i'm a freshman biology major who is doing the whole pre-med thing, and i have a couple of questions; hopefully i posted this in the right section.

i understand when applying to medical school a major factor of being accepted deals with shadowing/clinical experience. however, i go to school in florida where it is nearly impossible to shadow a physician or get some time in at the hospital. in fact, it COSTS $180 to VOLUNTEER at the hospital nearest to my university. to volunteer at the hospital near my home, i have to wait through a 2-year long wait list for volunteers to quit/die/get into medical school.

because of this, i've tried to seek "alternatives" in order to receive clinical experience. when i'm at school, i volunteer at a hospice house, where i hang out with terminally ill patients. although it's not a hospital, it provides a hospital-like setting with doctors, nurses, hospital beds, smells, etc. the nurses also teach me some cool **** like how to place an IV.

i also volunteer at a medical examiners office (weird, i know, but if you ever get the chance to hacksaw through a man's skull, i highly recommend you jump on it).

so my question is, do these cut it (no pun intended)? i know they're not exactly the typical clinical experiences many of you have had, but as of right now, it's the best i can do. should i stick with this for the next four years to show commitment? are these acceptable/respectable means of clinical experience?

thanks guys.