Index funds vs. Target retirement funds

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PaperMate30301

The Sharp Writer
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok. I am a total newbie to this thread. Please be nice. :D

I am about to open a Roth IRA account, but I have no idea what to do with it. Some SDNers have suggested target retirements funds (through Fidelity or Vanguard), but how about index funds/ETFs?

Since target retirement funds have much higher net expense ratios (i.e. 0.8% for Fidelity Freedom 2050), index funds/ETFs seem to be a better option (i.e. <0.1%). What do you people think?

Members don't see this ad.

Ok. I am a total newbie to this thread. Please be nice. :D

I am about to open a Roth IRA account, but I have no idea what to do with it. Some SDNers have suggested target retirements funds (through Fidelity or Vanguard), but how about index funds/ETFs?

Since target retirement funds have much higher net expense ratios (i.e. 0.8% for Fidelity Freedom 2050), index funds/ETFs seem to be a better option (i.e. <0.1%). What do you people think?

Target Retirement Funds are Funds-of-Funds that hold various other mutual funds and rebalance them automatically, becoming more conservative as you get closer to retirement. You'll be pleased to know that Vanguard's target retirement funds are composed entirely of index funds, and have an expense ratio of 0.21%. The fidelity funds are composed of active funds and are notably more expensive. Remember in investing that you get what you DON'T pay for.

ETF will be along shortly to argue that Fidelity's active management is worth paying more for, but there is no evidence that is true, and plenty of evidence that it is not.

The index fund vs ETF decision is a separate discussion. Generally, if you are investing a large chunk of money at once, ETFs are a good idea. If you're buying a little each time, an index fund is better.