Info overload

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

epsilonprodigy

Physicist Enough
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a new intern at a very busy program where we rotate through FIVE different hospitals. This means a new EMR, new set of rules, new hospital geography every month. Compounding this with more patients than I've ever taken care of, sometimes in subspecialties I have zero experience in, I'm having huge issues keeping track of WTF is going on w/ my patients. It's fine if I admit them, but when I come on service and get sign out on someone who's been there awhile, we talk about the "active issues" while dormant ones get pushed to the back burner. Then 2 days later, I realize I have no clue why they're on antibiotics or whatever. Yeah, it's probably in the chart somewhere, but if I'm going to get minimum 4 hours of sleep a night, I have no time to look since I'm still figuring out how to work the computer, where the PACU is, etc. There are times when I'm about to walk into a patients room and have to stop to ask myself why they're even there, let alone what their crit was that day. It also doesn't help that I have terrible computer skills, so learning a new EMR is tricky for me.

I think what would help the most is a huge word document broken down by system on every patient, but again, the time. I'm not lazy, but I already end up staying until 9-10 on most nights and have to be back between 4:30 and 5. As many have said, sleep deprivation plays heavily into inefficiency and memory problems. On my current service, you get the succus kicked outta you if you glance at your paper during rounds, so I want to square this away before I switch to nights and have to actually present patients.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad.

The history and physical is your holy grail. Also ask your senior when you aren't sure of anything. Efficiency is everything.