Insight into Duquesne's program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nahsil

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is sort of a "what are my chances" question, but I'm really just looking for insight into what the PhD program at Duquesne looks for in candidates.

For instance, since the research is qualitative, would they care as much about the quantitative GRE score as opposed to the verbal, which should be important in qualitative research?

And would a lack of traditional quantitative research hurt, when their stuff is more philosophical/essay-based research? I have a degree in English as well as Psychology, so I'm wondering if that would be a big plus in my court, since it seems akin to have experience in "qualitative research."

Members don't see this ad.

I interviewed there a few years ago. At the time, they were looking for people with (besides the baseline high GRE, GPA, etc) an interest and background in "psychology + x". At the time, frequent "x's" were continental philosophy, ethics, critical/lit theory, etc. Prepare to talk about why existential thinking/phenomenology are important to you. What does psychology as a human science mean to you? Hope that helps. Really amazing program.

That sounds fantastic! I'm into psychology + philosophy, religious studies, critical theory, and some other stuff. I really hope they give me a chance despite my shortcomings that more traditional doctoral programs would probably consider a huge deal. I'm trying to get in touch with some professors to discuss common areas of interest between us and stuff.

Thanks for your response!

Members don't see this ad :)