Insight into Pre-Medical Decisions from a Resident (factors in choosing a school, life outlook, etc)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Redpancreas

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey SDN Pre-Med Community,

I'm now a resident physician and would like to type up a bit about some things I wished I'd known when applying. Forgive me if some of this stuff is now obvious. I know the stakes get higher every year and as a result, pre-meds are becoming more and more knowledgeable so the conventional pre-med SDN wisdom may have expanded. To give you some background, I originally joined the SDN community early in pre-med and this stuff wasn't super obvious (or maybe it was and I just ignored it). I'm now a medical resident (please respect privacy). Also, I hope this meant-to-be-advice doesn't offend anyone, but in the event that it does, I think my explanations are thorough enough here and I won't be going back-forth. I also don't like answer Inbox messages because oftentimes I get questions where I can't really help the person or maybe I can but it would betray too much anonymity. If you have questions, I'd prefer them down below where everyone can see so they can help others. Hopefully, this helps some of you! Other medical students and residents are free to jump in as I'm not the authority on any of this.