Institutional Action Question - Marijuana

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jscmd

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So just a little background on my sitch: I graduated from a top 10 school with a 3.81 cGPA in chemistry and scored 524 on the MCAT. I would say I have decent research experience (1500 hrs and 2 pubs in Nature subjournal) and a lot of ECs related to cancer with direct patient interaction (including hospital volunteering, support group, and summer camp). I don't have many special hobbies or anything unique about me. I'm also ORM.

The problem is in freshman year (2014), I was caught smoking a little weed by my RA and my university put me on "residential probation" (basically a big warning) and had me watch some videos on weed education. It's not in my transcript but I know I do have to report it as an institutional action. I'm not going to sugarcoat it when I explain it. I'm just going to be real and say I was young and stupid and don't do things like that anymore.

The question is are my chances for US MD shot to hell now? I'll be applying next cycle (2018) and I don't care about going to a top school. I'd be happy with most US MD schools. Also, what can I do before I apply to show the adcoms that I've grown and changed?

Members don't see this ad.

The problem is in freshman year (2014), I was caught smoking a little weed by my RA and my university put me on "residential probation" (basically a big warning) and had me watch some videos on weed education.

Ahahahaha I can only imagine

Reactions: 1 users
OP, I doubt you're toast. Young and stupid is a theme in admissions. You were also a freshman.

Members don't see this ad :)
You're fine, but play it smart.

On amcas, you'll have to explain. Do NOT overexplain. 3 sentences tops that say what you did and what you learned. Take responsibility. Describe exactly what happened and let the reader draw their own conclusion.