Insurance providers paying for predoctoral intern services

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted760483

Hello All -

I am hoping to gather some information on which insurance providers have reimbursed predoctoral interns for psychological services. I live and work in Iowa and am attempting to create a generalist predoctoral internship here as this area is sorely lacking in mental health services, but currently there are no payers in my area who are willing to pay for services of a predoctoral intern. We are attempting to negotiate reduced rate contracts for supervised intern services and they are wanting information about how this is handled in other states. I only know Iowa and Minnesota, where BCBS did pay a reduced rate for me when I was an intern, but no other payers did. Any help is appreciated. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

This is going to be very state-dependent. We are able to bill for interns (or even prac students) assuming it occurs under supervision of an attending in NC. I believe all private insurers that we take will currently pay and at the same rate as the attending would bill. Some of this may have to do with setting, the credentialing system in place and negotiating power of the system. We're a massive university system that has taken over much of the surrounding area, has quality of care stats to back us up and is really only the option for certain services anyways. In other words, far more power to force things down the throat of insurers than other settings might have.