Internal Medicine Book Poll

Discussion in 'Clinical Rotations' started by keepsmiling10, Jan 5, 2009.

?

Which books are best for Medicine?

1. Case Files

9 vote(s)
    36.0%
  2. Step Up

19 vote(s)
    76.0%
  3. Crush Step 2

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Kochar's Clinical Medicine for Students

1 vote(s)
    4.0%
  5. MKSAP 3

14 vote(s)
    56.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. keepsmiling10

2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Which books for Medicine are the best for the Shelf, the rotation and eventually that will also help for Step 2. I'm trying to include a poll but I'm still kind of new to this thing.

1. Case Files
    2. Step Up to Medicine
    3. Crush Step 2
    4. Kochar's Clinical Medicine for Students
    5. MKSAP for Students 3
    6. (You can also add another one if you highly highly recommend it).

Please tell me the BEST ones, as in which ones one can actually read within 2 months along with doing rotations and having somewhat of a life (ha, I know).

Thanks!!

(wait, how do I create the poll?)

2. BigRedBeta

BigRedBeta Why am I in a handbasket?
    Physician 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    IMO, for the shelf you need a question book and a reference text that focuses on the highlights. MKSAP is a great question source, and Step Up is one of the more complete texts. My only gripe with StepUp is that I don't like reading outlines...unfortunately BluePrints didn't go into enough depth though I like the format a lot.

For Step 2, Crush has the advantage of covering more than just internal medicine topics.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. drbetty

2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I think in addition to the consensus on Step Up and Mksap, Step 2 Secrets is a great book to stick in your white coat for internal medicine, let alone all rotations, b/c it's a quick overview of everything. And you'll be a step ahead for CK studying as well.

#3 drbetty, Jan 5, 2009