International Medical Graduate With MD Pathology Degree

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ravisingh007

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an International medical graduate with an MD Pathology degree from India. I plan to complete all the 3 steps of USMLE. I have a few questions if you could kindly answer them

1- After completing all the three steps how long would it take for me to get a fellowship in the United States without doing my board Residency

2- Will I be eligible to work in the United States or I would have to do my residency in Pathology

3- Will a Fellowship from United States be recognised for jobs in other first world countries of Europe, Australia , UK etc or I would have to do my residency in the United States then only I would be recognised for job

4- What is the status of FRCP Path in the United States

5- And as there is no age limit for USMLE if i apply for Fellowship or residency at the age of 45 years also will I be considered.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think you can get a pathology job or fellowship without completing a US pathology residency.

Members don't see this ad :)
1- After completing all the three steps how long would it take for me to get a fellowship in the United States without doing my board Residency
2- Will I be eligible to work in the United States or I would have to do my residency in Pathology
3- Will a Fellowship from United States be recognised for jobs in other first world countries of Europe, Australia , UK etc or I would have to do my residency in the United States then only I would be recognised for job
4- What is the status of FRCP Path in the United States
5- And as there is no age limit for USMLE if i apply for Fellowship or residency at the age of 45 years also will I be considered.

1. Within one year if you are good in terms of connection, publication, experience of practice in your home country (at least complete residency).