International Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Phyline

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I don't know if anybody here can answer.....but what are my chances of getting in as an international student? I know that the percentages are already pretty low, but hoping that my stats can make up for that. I'm also a nontrad, been working as a research assistant for 2 years since I graduated.

I went to a top 10 undergrad, have a 3.76 GPA (not counting additional prerequisites I've been taking), a 329 GRE, my recommenders are kind of a big deal in their fields.....but I'm not a US Citizen! :( I'm also not eligible for any kind of federal finaid, and most schools don't give any finaid to international students either, so I'm looking at oodles of money in private loans.

I swear I'm not humblebragging, just really nervous. Some schools make it impossible to get in from out of state, it's even worse if you're "out of the country".

Schools I'm applying to (I'm trying to cover a spread of big cities where my boyfriend can also find a job):
MGH IHP
UC Denver
Regis (I'd love to pick a single Denver school to apply to, but they both seem to be good)
University of St Augustine (Austin)
SDSU
University of Illinois - Chicago
UCSF/SFSU
Northern Arizona University

I also want to put Atlanta on the list, but I'm not sure which one school - Emory? Mercer?

Thanks!!!

Members don't see this ad.

You may not have much luck with state schools since they are required to give preference to residents (US citizens & green card holders) of their state, but private schools will welcome you with open arms since you'll be paying full-fare.

Do think about your financing sources before your commit, though. If you'll pay for the degree mostly with loans, run some numbers first as the repayments can really affect your lifestyle.

Reactions: 1 user