Interventional radiology vs surgery?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IRmonkey

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
[Disclosure: I am a radiology resident going into interventional radiology]

There was a thought provoking thread intiated by a surgery resident on the new Interventional radiology sub forum about recent trends in IR and how it may affect surgery. I'm curious what other surgery-minded individuals may think about this.

Given recent trends in interventional radiology (IR) towards a more clinically-oriented practice with clinics and admitting privileges at increasingly more institutions, the practice of IR is evolving to be more like the surgical fields and less like “radiology.” What are your thoughts about IR becoming more clinically oriented? Is this welcomed or threatening to surgeons? Are there turf issues between surgery and IR?

I was also wondering if any of the surgical residents out there considered doing radiology with the intent of doing IR or if having to spend 4 years doing diagnostic radiology scarred people away. If you did consider IR were you aware of the Clinical or DIRECT pathways?

I'd be interested on hearing any of your thoughts. I think having cross-specialty discussions in these types of forums can be fruitful and beneficial to those participating to better understand another perspective/field.

Members don't see this ad.

IR is losing ground in peripheral vascular interventions from the data I've seen presented at conferences. They seem to be losing their slice of the pie to vascular surgery, while cardiology has remained about the same (controlling the biggest slice). Cards of course is gaining in some specific areas e.g. carotid stenting. IR has lots of procedures though, and I only have read about their market share in vascular.

The reason as a medical student I discounted IR is two fold.