Intubation tips?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SBL

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Sorry to bother everyone with a technical question. I know that match issues are a higher priority now, but if anyone wants to give me some advice, I'd appreciate it.

I'm a fourth year student (matched in OB/GYN, not going into anesthesia), and I'm doing an Anesthesia elective right now. I'm trying to get the hang of intubating, and I've succeeded a couple of times, but I still seem to have trouble lifting the laryngoscope the right way. I'll see the epiglottis and think I have it in the valeculae, but I can't seem to lift it the right way to get the vocal cords into view. That's where I'm stuck right now. I'm determined to get this right before the end of my rotation.

If anyone has any basic tips that worked for them, let me know-
Thanks,
-SBL

Members don't see this ad.

I guess from the beginning:

1. Tuck/extend the head/neck to align the oral pharyngeal and laryngeal axes.
2. Use your right hand to maximally open the mouth by using your thumb and first finger at the molars of the patient to "scissor" open the mouth.
3. Place the blade gently in the mouth on the right side of the tongue and then maneuver the blade toward the midline, sweeping the tongue to the left side of the mouth as you do so.
4. Lift the handle and blade up and away from you. If you see nothing, you have likely hooked the epiglottis which is OK if you are using the Miller/Phillips/other straight blade, but not good if you are using a MacIntosh blade. Slowly withdraw the blade while maintaining your up and forward lift and the vocal cords and epiglottis should drop into view.
5. You can sometimes change the angle of your lift slightly to lift the epiglottis up to expose the vocal cords, but don't rock back and touch/crack the upper incisors.