• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

apotato

Apr 26, 2012
Status (Visible)
  1. Non-Student
I just found this forum and I am happy to find a section dedicated to nontraditional students! This year I will be turning 30 and I have a 2 year old son. I'm very seriously considering medical school, but am afraid that it might be too late for me to achieve my dreams. I graduated high school in 2000 and it took me 7 years to get my B.S. in a non-science related field of study; the first 4 years was spent not knowing what I wanted to do and bouncing from school to school. Ever since graduating, I have taken evening courses as a continuing education student and most of these are science related: microbiology, anatomy and physiology (I and II), statistics. For a while I thought I would be applying to become a nurse, but the past year and a half I have begun to realize I want to be a doctor. I am interested in neonatology and endocrinology (kind of random), but I don't have any experience in the medical field (other than medical billing) so at this time I would probably surprise myself with what I might be interested in later. I believe becoming a nurse is a noble and challenging profession and would probably fulfill my desire to continually learn and help people, but I believe I would also still want more.

I'm looking for advice in general and hopefully from someone else who has taken the plunge despite being older and having a young child.

I'm also worried that because I don't have any experience in a health-related field that my dreams are rather rose-colored and romanticized. I've begun searching for some books and articles about being a medical profession in today's times. If anybody has any suggestions or links, that would also be appreciated.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post!

gonnif

Rule One: Take a Breath
10+ Year Member
Jul 26, 2009
The Big Bad Apple
Status (Visible)