1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Is LASIK a good idea?

Discussion in 'Optometry' started by daysinnnc, May 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. daysinnnc

10+ Year Member

I am a premed student
    i went to my od the otherday to get my eyes checked and i've noticed how come all the eye doctors don't get lasik but encourage us to get LASIK

IS LASIK safe at all???:confused:

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. KHE

KHE Senior Member
    Optometrist SDN Advisor 10+ Year Member

Optometrist
    What?? Do you think we are all freaking IDIOTS?? :laugh:

Seriously...LASIK is as safe as any cosmetic procedure out there. Is it foolproof? No. Are there risk involved? Of course. You can go to the dentist, get your teeth cleaned, get an infection and die. That's rare, but just like that there is always a small risk of something going crazy with LASIK.

I've seen about 5000 LASIK patients. I can count the number of patients who had serious complications on one hand. I did however have many more patients who were less than satisfied. That is, they came out 20/30 instead of 20/20. Still a hell of a lot better than the 20/800 they were before the surgery, but they still had to wear a weak pair of glasses ocasionally while driving at night or something like that and since they paid $4000, they expected perfection and they didn't get it. No fault of theirs, no fault of the surgeon. Just variability in the procedure. You have more chance of that than you do of "going blind."

4. fjpod

7+ Year Member

Optometrist