tam2688

tam2688
Jul 17, 2009
Chicago, IL
Status
Pre-Optometry
Hi guys,
I just finished my 2nd year of undergrad. I realized I wanted to do optometry at the end of my 1st year, so I am feeling I "lost" my first year of time because I have started my research on optometry schools, looking for shadowing, just a few months ago.

My major is biology and I have gotten good grades in all of them - I spent first year finishing liberal arts requirements and biology classes. I started chemistry at my university but was having some difficulty with the time and schedule as well as the pace - I took it at a city community college because I did not want to lose more time and did well in Chemistry I. I am about to take chemistry II at the community college start August this summer. I am also going to start the calculus sequence and fit in statistics at the end of the year.

SO, if everything works out, I should be done with the following requirements:
Biology and Labratory
General Chemistry
Statistics
Psychology (done)
Social Science (Done: Sociology)
Recommended: cell biology, anatomy, physiology, public speaking (done)

But that is only by 3rd year of undergrad. That means I will need my 4th year to finish:
Organic chemistry ** As per my experience with general chemistry at my univeristy, I will have to take organic at the community college as well.
microbiology (required by ICO, I don't know about others)
Physics

I am very much worried about my timing. I know I should have taken biology and chemistry concurrently my first year, but to be honest I found chemistry to be very hard at my university so I did it at a semester system to understand it better (my university is at a quarter system).