Dermalicious123

2+ Year Member
Oct 18, 2014
Status
Medical Student
Hello, I'm a third year medical student that is considering pathology or dermatology.

I really loved my pathology class and I think pathology is probably the most intellectual field in medicine, which is appealing to me because I love learning and talking about mechanisms and being super nerdy.

However, I'm worried about whether pathology would be too isolating? Despite my interest in pathology, I also love being around people and daily interaction is important to me. Is private practice pathology or community hospital pathology isolating?

Thanks for your wisdom!

WEBB PINKERTON

7+ Year Member
Dec 16, 2010
Status
Non-Student
Read this forum. It will show you what pushing glass in isolation does to people. :roflcopter:

Besides being bad for your mental health, it is horrible on your back/neck and you run a high risk of DVT/emboli.

I must say that you do meet a lot of people while performing the extensive networking that is needed to secure employment.

Choose Derm

KeratinPearls

10+ Year Member
Apr 2, 2007
Status
Fellow [Any Field]
If you enjoy meeting and talking to patients and have the scores, etc, go into derm. You can always do dermpath as a fellowship.

As a pathologist, you will be spending a lot of time looking at slides in your office. Your interaction with people will mainly be your path colleagues, clinicians and patients during FNAs. If you need patient interaction especially in an office based setting, stick to derm.

Pathologists tend to be introverts who tend to not enjoy patient contact and Dermatologists tend to be extroverts who do.

Last edited:

alpinebrook

7+ Year Member
Jun 24, 2011
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I certainly hope WEBB PINKERTON is just being sarcastic.