Is plastic surgery struggling?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Stare Decisis

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I had the opportunity to attend a lecture at an independent program and during the break some of the fellows were getting together and discussing job prospects. It was quite an eye opener! They were saying how it was almost impossible to find a good job and they were getting offers in the ballpark of a someone coming of an ER residency. I was standing there drinking my Pepsi and one of the fellows turned to me and asked if I was a medical student. They told me how much fun plastic surgery was but the amount of work was starting to outweigh the returns. These were reconstruction guys, which I thought were somewhat protected from the "Great Recession." They were saying if they had it to over they would they would have chosen another specialty. A friend of mine at another program said he hears the same things from the fellows that are job hunting.

Is it really this bad? The cosmetic field is a saturated shark tank and reconstruction is pretty much done for free? I am not concerned with being wealthy, but it seems depressing to think that after 7+ years of training I will be sweating just to keep the lights on in the office.

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, the job market in Plastics sucks right now. The commonly quoted figure is that the cosmetic market is down ~40%. This has led to some of the mid-range guys trying to get back into more of the recon market, making in hard for the newbies (like me) to get much traction. Recon doesn't pay as well as cosmetic, but it is more stable (although we're seeing a slowdown in some of that work, too).