Is "Technician Assistant" Position Worth it for Experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mountainmama23

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been applying for a lot of jobs to get animal or veterinary experience this summer and not having much luck because of COVID-19. I am a rising sophomore in college who has mostly volunteer experience related to animals and was hoping to get an actual job. I applied to one animal hospital with a position called Veterinary Technician Assistant and they called me this morning about it, which I'm assuming is a good sign. I'm just wondering how valuable this would be since I've never heard of technicians having assistants. Also, would this count as veterinary experience or animal experience on VMCAS? Any advice would be appreciated on whether I should take this job.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Veterinary experience. I’m guessing you would be doing restraint, cleaning kennels, etc. It’s worthwhile to get your foot in the door somewhere.

Reactions: 6 users
I’ve heard of “veterinary technician assistants” essentially being a different term for “veterinary assistant.” As a VA you’re basically assisting the techs anyway. I definitely agree with genny that it’s worth getting your foot in the door.

Reactions: 8 users
Members don't see this ad :)