Is the Kaplan prep course worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vornskr1030

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was talking to a second year at UCBSO, and he said it'd be a waste of time. He recommended just buying Kaplan's MCAT book instead, along with the topscore pro cd. What do you guys think? I don't know if I can make myself sit down and study the book on my own though...

Members don't see this ad.

for sure. if you are willing to spend the necessary time to study independently, you will be fine. the only book basically that i studied out of was the DAT prep guide. i studied for 2 months, no more no less. i did fine on the oat. good luck! :)

\
vornskr1030 said:
I was talking to a second year at UCBSO, and he said it'd be a waste of time. He recommended just buying Kaplan's MCAT book instead, along with the topscore pro cd. What do you guys think? I don't know if I can make myself sit down and study the book on my own though...

vornskr1030 said:

The class was useless, but the materials (the online tests and workshops, the huge book, and the flashcards) were key. I doubt I would have done as well without all of that.

Members don't see this ad :)
I used the Kaplan MCAT Comprehensive Review book. I have not taken the course, but everyone who saw my book said "Don't waste your time with Kaplan courses". I couldn't afford the course even if I had wanted it, so it was just as well.

vornskr1030 said:

The Kaplan course is extremely expensive and not worth it. I used the Top Score Pro CD (worth the $40) and I also bought some cheap Schaum's outline review booklets on chemistry, organic chemisty, physics, and biology. I did fine on the OAT and only had to take it once, and some of the people I've talked to who paid for the Kaplan course said it wasn't worth it (and are retaking the OAT).