Is UM's DPT tuition worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ctlna

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!
I recently just got accepted into UM's program and when I went there for the interview I absolutely fell in love with the program. I pretty much decided on the spot I wanted to go there.

However, now, looking into it I realized I would have 30-40k more of loans than if I went to other schools (i.e. UF/UCF).

I was just wondering, for UM DPT grads, if the amount of loans you had to take out are doable (in terms of paying them back once you graduated)?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I don't go to UM but I am a current PT student elsewhere. NO. No school is worth taking 30-40k more in loans. This extra money is collecting interest that you otherwise wouldn't have had to pay at a cheaper school. My advice is always go to the cheapest school possible, or at least choose the cheapest route otherwise (COL, etc.). You take the same board exam. All that matters is their pass rates. This has been beaten to death lol.

Reactions: 1 user
Yeah, I understand that. I think I just loved UM so much when I interviewed and I haven't gotten that feeling anywhere else.

But I don't want to be paying loans the test of my life.

Members don't see this ad :)
I remember the initial experiences at my school on interview day. I felt a real connection with some of the 1st year students. I was excited to see the faculty and recognized some of their names from my long hours on the internet ("I read his blog! Cool!"). I hit it off so well with my interviewer--one of the faculty professors--that I thought somehow I was entering a set of almost magical professional relationships. Though I remember that the campus seemed grubby… it was a bit bleak and I had to commute, but given the state school prices I was all in.