levymel

10+ Year Member
Mar 6, 2005
Status
I am an American student and I have been accepted into both Sackler and Ben Gurion. I have a question about licensing in Israel and it something that I can't really ask the admissions board because they just tell me that the programs train doctors for the US and not for Israel...but I really need to know this answer !

I would ideally like to graduate from an Israeli medical school and practice in Israel (I would obtain Israeli citizenship). I am wondering if anyone has any experience in this matter.

I heard that graduates from Sackler are considered like foreign med school graduates and that graduates from Ben Gurion need to do a 1 year internship.What kind of residencies do these doctors obtain after the internships??

Any information about my situation would be greatly appreciated!

Melanie

jackbnimble

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
May 9, 2004
Status
levymel said:
I am an American student and I have been accepted into both Sackler and Ben Gurion. I have a question about licensing in Israel and it something that I can't really ask the admissions board because they just tell me that the programs train doctors for the US and not for Israel...but I really need to know this answer !

I would ideally like to graduate from an Israeli medical school and practice in Israel (I would obtain Israeli citizenship). I am wondering if anyone has any experience in this matter.

I

Last edited:

LIGA ARTZIT

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 21, 2004
www.yahoo.com
Status
I went to sackler and if you want to stay in israel you can you just have to do a "stage" year which is like a transitional year before starting specialty training. It is however not accepted by the administration so if you do it don't tell them it's yor plan - just do it on your own when you graduate. you need to do your boards in hebrew which are different than what sackler prepares you for.
plenty of people have done it--- 1 to 2 out of 60 a year.
good luck!