January PCAT and Interview

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted951073

I already applied for pharmacy school at the university of Minnesota hoping to get accepted for fall 2019. The only thing left at this point is to take the PCAT in January which I'm really worried about. I am not a native English speaker and I'm struggling with the reading section. Also I don't have a bachelor's degree, I only took the prerequisites and I have a GPA of 3.88. I have a lot of experiences but not all of them in the pharmacy field.
Someone told me a good PCAT score is 70% and higher, and many people made me feel hopeful about getting accepted into the program. Also could I be rejected before getting an interview? I have a friend who got interviewed before even taking the PCAT but it was for a different university it wasn't for the UMN.
I read a lot of posts here about the pcat and a lot of them said it wasn't so bad, is this true?
I would really appreciate some advice on the pcat. Thanks :D

Members don't see this ad.

Hi @Jessica SY! Congrats on finishing your application to the University of Minnesota. I'll help you answer some of the questions you asked.

1. "Could I be rejected before getting an interview?"
Your application can be declined and you may receive a denial email or letter stating that the school is considering other candidates. Not every candidate will get an interview but generally if you do get an interview, there is a high likelihood they will accept you if you do well at this stage.
2. "I read a lot of posts here about the pcat and a lot of them said it wasn't so bad, is this true?"
This question is really opinion-based. It depends on several factors such as how much you remember from undergrad and how well you prepared for the PCAT. If you compare the PCAT to the MCAT or the DAT, it is easier in difficulty.