JD to MD: Financially Feasible?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jfitzpat

15+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

jfitzpat said:
I am considering med school and want to get a feel for how feasible it is financially. I am a 28 year old attorney, but I absolutely hate practicing law. I hate the greed, the arrogance, and the pointlessness. I am thinking about pursuing medicine instead (note that I also understand that there are greedy and arrogant physicians as well, just not as many). However, I have deep concerns about finances.

I currently have around $100,000 in preexisting law school debt and could add $200,000 getting my prereqs and MD. That makes me 35 years old with $300,000 in debt BEFORE my residency. With a four year residency, I will be 39 before any real money starts coming in. My wife makes around 45k as a Marketing Manager. We are expecting our first child within the next couple of weeks. We live in a reasonably priced Midwestern city with two local medical schools.

My question is whether this is feasible. I don't need to be rich. I don't want to pursue medicine for the money, but by the same token, I also want a secure financial environment for my family. Sorry about the long message. Any help would be most appreciated. Thanks.

In part depends on the type of debt. The subsidized portion of your student loan will be taken care of while you're in school. The unsub you're responsible for interest while you're in school. Hopefully you were able to lock in the low interest rate for your $100,000 debt under a consolidation plan.