JD who'd rather be an MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

weemodin

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've had an epiphany about 5 years too late.... I am seriously thinking about going to medical school.

I am currently an attorney -- a trial attorney, actually (no, not med. mal.) -- at a large law firm. My job is allegedly "big and important" and they pay me an unconscionable amount of money to push paper all day long. It's boring, it's futile, and I absolutely cannot see myself doing this for the rest of my life. I feel like all I do is muck about in other people's problems and charge them buckets of money for this in the process. I see what kind of work the senior attorneys do on a daily basis, and frankly, it doesn't seem that exciting.

I have wanted to be a doctor for as long as I can remember. When I was in elementary school, I would read my dad's medical textbooks for fun. I did a report on atherosclerosis in the 5th grade. I love being in hospitals, and I currently volunteer at one once a week. In short, I'm not a dabbler who is merely disenchanted with her job.

Most of you are probably wondering, "why, then, did she go to law school?"

I have no good answer. At any rate, this is where I am at this point, and any answer I could supply wouldn't have a thing to do with the price of tea in China.

I am married to a wonderful man, and we want to have children soon. At 26, I'm still young enough to not worry about the age factor re: going back to school.

I was a biochemistry and genetics major for three years in college, so I have almost all of the prerequisite classes covered. I still need one more semester of organic chemistry, which I can take at the local university.

There are a few hitches to all of this. My undergraduate grades were just so-so -- I think I graduated with like a 3.2. I did extremely well in law school. Will they consider this?