Dec 6, 2010
Status
Pre-Optometry
I'm currently juggling acceptance letters to multiple schools and was wondering what the outlook is for the Optometry field. I've realized after browsing this forum that there are a lot of "haters" of the optometry profession. the government and multiple magazines and websites say that the demand for optometrists is large and projected to increase dramatically, but i see that a lot of people are complaining about lack of jobs. I'd like to hear from recent grads, maybe within the past 1-3 years. how do you feel the job market looks? are the people who complain about lack of jobs unwilling to look in areas that are not already saturated with OD's?

thanks!

4Eyes

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Oct 30, 2005
Status
Optometrist
(I graduated ~2.5 years ago.)

The job market is good if you happen to want to live in an unsaturated area (probably rural) after you graduate...OR you don't care where you live, you'll just go where work can be found.

The job market is fairly bad if you are picky about where you want to live.