Judging Strength of MSTP Research Department

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EsseQuamVideri

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Please distinguish yourselves as: applicant, reapp, current MSTP/MDPhD, graduate if possible:

How did you mudphuds investigate the strength of the research programs to which you were applying? Number of top-notch faculty? Lots of high IF pubs? NIH dollars? etc.

I'm trying to whittle down my MSTP school list before i finally click submit (19 schools now) and I'd like to evaluate the research programs a little more systematically as opposed to my current "browse/impressions" approach.

As always, wisdom is appreciated. Speculation will be met with skepticism. Criticism will be disregarded entirely ;)

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a current MSTP student. I didn't evaluate the overall research of the institutions to which I applied because I already had an area of interest. I looked specifically to see if there were multiple faculty members in that area that looked promising. Different institutions have strengths and weaknesses in different areas. Even those schools that receive the most overall NIH funding and have the most overall R01-funded PIs will be weaker in certain areas.

If you do have specific area(s) of interest, I recommend looking at the faculty available at each institution in those areas. Make a note of how many are doing work that interests you and what their publication record looks like. If a school only has a couple faculty that look promising to you then yeah, knock it off the list. If you don't have a specific area of interest yet, then look at the overall NIH funding the school receives and the amount of NIH dollars/PI etc. etc.

Anyway, that's what I did. But perhaps you'd like to come up with a more systematic solution? If so, more power to you.