July 2020 OAT Experience

xtinaopt

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I recently took my OAT exam a week ago and found these forums really helpful and told myself if I did well, I'd post about my experience to help out a fellow anxious test taker who is looking at these at 2 a.m. (aka me!)

First off, I am a rising senior biology major so I have a decent science background, so much of the material was just a review for me. I did have to review orgo and physics quite a bit though, but those have always been harder subjects for me. I plan on applying this cycle so my application is half done as I'm typing this!

Preparation
Onto how I prepared! I studied for about 2 months, pretty much since school ended until July 18th. I would study about 5-6 hours a day (6 days a week) depending on the subject since I was following the Kaplan prep book as my guide. It can be so overwhelming at first, but just be consistent with it! I went through 3 or so chapters a day depending on the subject and actively took notes and made flashcards. I took 4 practice Kaplan exams and the sample ADA OAT test that has been floating around during this time to track my progress. I also recommend taking the ADA exam as your last practice exam since it really is such a confidence booster! I made the mistake of taking my last Kaplan test the week of my exam and didn't do as well as I hoped so I felt a little discouraged. I also had the question bank from Kaplan to get some more practice with questions. It was good in some aspects like bio, but for physics it was really discouraging at times since Kaplan physics problems are pretty tough. A source I wish I knew about sooner was Chad's videos. He really broke down all the concepts that I was really struggling with in Orgo and Physics. Towards the end, I started running out of time when it came to watching the orgo videos, but even looking at his orgo reaction summary worksheet and the DAT boot camp reaction summary sheet really helped me nail a couple extr