Mar 23, 2010
Status
Medical Student
Hey!

So here's the deal. I am barely getting started on any sort of dental schooling, but my main goal is to become an RDH. I can't seem to find anyone who is able to give me specific direction in this!

I have a load of different certifications and licenses and classes that are being suggested to me; however, I don't want to waste my time on anything that isn't necessary.

Is it helpful to become a dental assistant before beginning dental hygiene?
Are online classes worthless?
What about Medical Assisting classes? Do they apply to RDH in any way?
Phlebotomy?
Is it worth taking classes at a Community College first, or no?
Are there any scholarships that you know of?

Any other suggestions or helpful tips are appreciated.

I understand this is all probably elementary stuff to everyone in this forum, but I've just recently realized that dental is a career path I'd love to pursue and need help as I am brand new to all this!

Thanks for your help! :)

oae

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Aug 6, 2006
California
Status
Pre-Dental
I highly doubt that any of the above mentioned certifications/courses of study would contribute towards your dental hygiene goals.

Secondly, dental assisting would be extra wasted money and time. The best thing to do is find a few schools that have a dental hygiene programs in your area. Then investigate their websites along with all of their admission requirements. Most of them will have similar requirements but pay attention for the slight variations.

Once you figured out what you need to get into these program, analyze your game plan for the next few years to figure out how you are going fulfill all of the prerequisistes and requirements for these dental hygiene programs. Make sure your timeline doesnt consist of taking all your classes at a community college. You should be trying to take alot of your prereqs at a 4 year university if you want be competitive.