Just beginning... all advice welcome!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SonnetMV

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

If you could take a moment to read my situation, and maybe leave a comment, it would be much appreciated.

I'm currently in my last year of college and will graduate with a major in philosophy. My school is "non-traditional," meaning we have evaluations instead of grades. I did take a few language classes at a nearby school, and my GPA from them isn't very good... 2.98 average. This, however, is from a total of 4 classes, none of which relate to my major or the science requirements I will have to take. The evaluations I've received have been good, but there is no way to translate them into actual grades to up my GPA. I'm worried about this!

After I graduate I am moving with my fiance to wherever he gets into grad school (we won't find out until April). We have agreed that I will work and try to get my vet school prerequisites completed while he gets his PhD, and then he'll work while I complete my schooling. So, I have 5 years to gain experience, take my GREs, and do all my prereqs before I even start my applications. I would really love to work at a small animal clinic while volunteering at a zoo AND taking classes at a local university. What can I do to make sure I get accepted at least somewhere? Any and all advice will be appreciated for how to fill the 5 year gap in ways which would make my application as strong as possible.