Just curious...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pressmom

Third year!
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Since this forum is mainly for med students (I'm a vet student), I was wondering how your research is structured as a student. Are you working on your own or with a professor, PhD, MD or some combination of the above? Are you all MD/PhD or are some of you just pursuing your MD?

I'm working on some clinical research this summer, studying scintigraphy in cats and dogs to discover ureteral obstructions. I didn't think I'd like research, but as it turns out, I'm loving it. (Only some vet students do research prior to professional school, and it doesn't seem to play as important of a role in getting into professional school as it does in human medicine. More emphasis is placed on clinical experience, as that's where most vets will end up.)

Thanks!

Also, if this has been discussed before, could someone point me to the thread?

Members don't see this ad.

...Are you working on your own or with a professor, PhD, MD or some combination of the above?...
It depends on your level of involvement and your training/experience.

A lot of kids in my class essentially have the PI (of any stripe) tell them what experiement to run, or what data to collect. I've got a MS, so I designed my own experiements and I put in my own IRB, with minimal mentor oversight. There's PhDs in my class who can do everything on their own, including writing grants.

...Are you all MD/PhD or are some of you just pursuing your MD?...
Just? Just an MD? Hmp.

I'm kidding. This website is for MDs and MD students (and DOs), but anyone can parcipate here.