kaplan q-bank -- step 1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ije

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first time posting...so, happy new years! Some questions:

1. For those that did kaplan's q-bank, did you get the 1 month, 3month, or 9 months? And what influenced your choice?

2. Does anyone know if the kaplan black homestudy review books contain the same information as their white review books which are supposed to go along with their review online lectures? (a friend gave me the white ones)

3. If you used Kaplan books, did you use it for all the subjects? If not, what did you use?

4. Also, I see from different posts that NMS question are helpful. Is this in reference ot the NMS review for USMLE Step 1, 6th edition? Or something else?

5. (Major) What suggestions can u give to a student like me who hasn't touched a board review book ever. I've only studied from our lecture notes and have rarely used any BRS books. It seems that the board study schedules are constructed with the assumption that students are already familiar with the review books or first aid -- which I'm not. What can I stary doing NOW to redeem myself? (boards prep-wise)

I know that these questions have probably been addressed at one time of the other, so I apologize for any redundancy. I just want to clear for myself.

That's it for now and thanks a lot for your anticipated responses...

Ije

Members don't see this ad.

I can address a couple of these questions. I too never really touched a Board Review Series book until I started studying for Step 1 about a month ago. On top of that, I'm a year removed from basic science since we do our clinical rotations during 2nd year at Duke. Consequently, it definitely took me a bit longer to get through BRS Path and Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple. (in other words, I couldn't stick to this schedule: http://www.mdtool.com/step1guide.html )