Kaplan vs Princeton

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by TC2001, Oct 24, 2001.

1. TC2001

TC2001 Junior Member

I am trying to figure out which course is best...Kaplan or Princeton?

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. dtreese

dtreese Caramel Gollum

Medical Student
    Can you say, "can of worms?" I knew you could :)

I'll just note that when they crunch the #'s, Kaplan's average results are better.

4. gobears

gobears Senior Member

It probably depends on the centers near your area. Your best bet would be to talk to peers and see what they thought.

In general, Kaplan is the larger of the 2 and has better materials, but much larger classes. PR limits its classes to about 9 students, but I heard that's because that's all they can get. I also heard there's a law suit going on with Kaplan suing PR for stealing Kaplan materials.

I'm not sure how accurate all that is though. I'm an MCAT teacher for Kaplan and so of course, they only told me one side of the story.

I took Kaplan and I thought it was a good course. If I could do it all over, I'd take Kaplan again.

Another option would be to just get the books and study on your own. Save yourself $1350.

5. praying mantis

praying mantis Senior Member

I've taken both courses and I think Princeton Review is much better. I don't really think you need the class time, but PR books and materials are much better.

6. Rumit

Rumit Senior Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Can you vote against Kaplan without voting for PR? I took Kaplan, and the only valuable part of the experience was the practice tests. In general, I knew more about the science than the teachers did, and I know I scored better on verbal than they did, so I stopped going to the classes about half way through. That's just my experience, and since a lot of it depends on the teacher quality it's very unpredictable.

Hope that helps,

Adam

7. dtreese

dtreese Caramel Gollum

Medical Student