Labs in undergrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

arthur2647

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, im a freshman, taking bio this semester. I feel like lab is so boring and annoying. We come in every time and have different groups, and sometimes they are lazy and cause the group to fall behind. Everything feels rushed and it seems that all we have to do is put a few things together in a test tube or beaker and get results for it so we can get a grade. I just feel like im learning so much more in my lecture which i really enjoy even though its tough while in labs im just trying to get results so i can receive a grade for them. The teacher who is a Grad student even said i just want you to complete your write ups, and they dont have to be correct. She only explains the basic concepts of what were doing and mainly just how to do the labs. Is it normal to feel like labs suck, or are boring?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, im a freshman, taking bio this semester. I feel like lab is so boring and annoying. We come in every time and have different groups, and sometimes they are lazy and cause the group to fall behind. Everything feels rushed and it seems that all we have to do is put a few things together in a test tube or beaker and get results for it so we can get a grade. I just feel like im learning so much more in my lecture which i really enjoy even though its tough while in labs im just trying to get results so i can receive a grade for them. The teacher who is a Grad student even said i just want you to complete your write ups, and they dont have to be correct. She only explains the basic concepts of what were doing and mainly just how to do the labs. Is it normal to feel like labs suck, or are boring?

Almost everybody hate labs. Even the TA's (they're required to TA for you to complete their grad degrees, btw).