latest safe date to take DAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

akimhaneul

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am pretty new to the whole dental school application process. I did some research and I found out that you can start submitting dental app in early June.

What date is the latest safe date for taking DAT? I heard that it takes couple weeks for the scores to be uploaded? I know that it's a rolling admission process so I would like to submit early.

Is there a guideline for dental school apps somewhere on SDN?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I would take DAT end of June, latest Mid July to be safe. Have your application completed as early as possible. You will have an huge advantage especially if your stats are average

Personally I would have the DAT done by the end of May so you can get your application in by the end of June. Also make sure the rest of your application is ready to go by then, your transcripts take time to get loaded as do your LOR's. End of July for getting your application in is probably the latest I would feel comfortable applying. A lot will depend on your stats, EC's, etc. though too. If you have way above average stats, you have a little more leeway.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
What about end of September for dat?
No. I took it at the end of August with great stats and a 23 AA... and only one school got back to me before Dec 1st. I know it doesn't seem late in theory, but it's really late. The schools will have all the applicants they can handle before you even take the test.