LECOM students; how do you study for PBL?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lolomghelp

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am a first year medical student at LECOM. We are completely PBL, and I have yet to adapt to this style of learning. I have tried Anki, but I end up making A TON of cards, so much so that I can't keep up with them and it can be overwhelming. I take notes, but then it takes me the whole day to finish a required reading.

I'll admit, I'm probably doing a lot of things wrong, like focusing too much on tiny details. But, I was wondering if there are any second/third/forth year students who have tips for me, which I then can pass along to my fellow colleagues, who are also struggling in PBL and wondering how to succeed.

:) thank you

Members don't see this ad.

Use USMLERx to go over the topics you assigned in your PBL sessions. If there's any micro use Sketchy. Use Pathoma for any pathology readings. The Robbins path review book has great questions to see if you're understanding the material, as does the review book for physiology. As for pharm....well you can use Sketchy for that as well but there will be some drugs on the test that weren't covered by sketchy.
Pictorize and Physeo are also helpful if you can afford them, as is B&B.
Using the above strategy, I got As all 4 semesters in PBL. YMMV. Good luck.

• Wow
Reactions: 3 users
Unsuspend all zanki decks that are related. Do the whole deck and end new cards a week before the exam, do all readings 1x without notes. Last week fill in gaps.

I don’t get As, I get Bs.

Members don't see this ad :)